The Fragrance of Christ

 The word savor (savour) is a noun as well as a verb.  As a noun, savor denotes a fragrance or an aroma. The Apostle Paul wrote in 2 Corinthians 2:14-16b, “But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and manifests through us the sweet aroma of the knowledge of Him in every place.  For we are a fragrance of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing; to the one an aroma from death to death, to the other an aroma from life to life.” (NASB)

On April 21st, 2010, my dear Mother went to be with Jesus.  I still miss her terribly, and I guess I will long for her until she and I are reunited one day.  As I think of all that I love and appreciate about my Mom, one kind of memory continually returns like the faithfully sweet fragrance of night-blooming jasmine.

In the last few years of her life, my Mom became increasingly thankful.  Over and over she expressed to me her gratitude toward our Lord Jesus, and our Heavenly Father.  In her youthful voice, she told me all for which she was grateful.  A few times, I thought perhaps joyful tears were trying to form (my Mom rarely cried).  Her face glowed and her eyes shone as she recounted God’s goodness to her.

My Mother did not have an earthly life of ease.  Two major tragedies irrevocably marked her life when she was barely into her thirties.  Through the years, life ferociously continued to pummel her with severe hardship, and further loss.  Yet, as she drew nearer to eternity, this battle-weary lady became increasingly beautiful in spirit.  All hints of sorrow were swallowed by praise and thanksgiving.  As I watched my Mother rejoice, I witnessed a profound change: Her face softened and become more beautiful than I had ever seen it; her presence became more peaceful, loving, and kind than in all the years I had known her.

My dear Mom died at 86 years of age, but her mind was sharp to the end.  As her conversation returned over and over to the gratefulness swelling in her heart, I knew that this was not the repetition of age: For each telling was a little different, and each time was more precious than the last.  It was as if she were dipping ever deeper into the unseen well of the pure water of life; and she was sharing the sweetness with me.

So now, when I think of my Mother, the precious memories of her thankful spirit caress my heart with the hopeful and loving aroma of Jesus.  She indeed left behind her “the sweet aroma of the knowledge of Him,” and “the fragrance of Christ.”

27 thoughts on “The Fragrance of Christ

  1. Oh, Sandi this is such a beautifully written testimony from you and your mother. I love Paul’s reference to Christ in us as a pleasing aroma. This is a wonderful take on the savor theme.

    Like

  2. So beautiful and touching, Sandi! Even though my mom did not go through the trials your mother did, the description of your mom and her grateful attitude reminded so much of mine. I, too, look forward to seeing her again and sharing another cup of tea with her. So glad you’ve joined our chain gang! Blessings to you!

    Like

    • Thanks Pegg. It was not always so. Everything good and sweet we shared was because of Jesus. I thank Him for His work in both our hearts. He indeed makes the broken whole.

      Like

  3. Sandi this is a beautiful tribute to your mother, what a treasure she is and your importunity to know her. I love that she did not cling to bitterness of tragedy that some do, but allowed the circumstance to grow her faith more focused on the Lord. Thank you

    Like

    • Thanks Terrie. It would have been so easy and “natural” for her to drown in bitterness. I’m so relieved that she chose the less traveled, but more blessed road of trust and thankfulness. 🙂

      Like

  4. Beautiful post, Sandi. I can relate. I lost my mother this past September. She would have been 93 this month.

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

    Like

  5. My condolences on the loss of your mother. We could all do to be more like her. What an example and legacy she has left.

    I had never thought about the word savour as a noun. You’ve given me a whole new way to think about it.

    Like

  6. That was beautiful Heart thanks for sharing. I’m sorry to hear about your mother’s passing. I’m glad you can remenis about the happy memories.
    P.S. I also want to thank you for stopping by and commenting on my posts.

    Like

  7. You could be writing about my mom here.. She is in her mid-seventies now, and is notably more joyful, kind, and loving as her spirit softens with the years. She had some major tragedies in her life too.. life is hard, but in the end, if Jesus is with us, our countenance will be one of love and joy! 😀 EXCELLENT blog entry!

    Like

    • Thank you Sandy. How kind you are. Your Mom sounds wonderful. Do you ever pray that if Jesus waits to return until you’re elderly, that you will grow in grace and godliness just like your Mother? I do. 🙂 I love being around elderly saints!! Especially those ultra sweet ones who have been tested by fire. I can’t wait to see my Mom again. I miss her. Please give your Mom a hug for me.

      Like

  8. Pingback: Savor the Story | CWBC | Nona King, "Spirit driven fiction."

  9. Pingback: Savor | CWBC | Nona Mae King | Angel Breath Books

  10. Pingback: Savor the Story | CWBC | Nona Mae King | Angel Breath Books

Leave a Reply

